ADS
ADS

[ad_1]

ADS

iOS 17 is available to download and the brand-new iPhone 15 is in stores, which means that Apple fans can finally play around with the exciting new features that the company has been teasing for months. These new upgrades have brought some exciting new additions, including StandBy mode and the Journal app. Among the new-to-iPhone features is NameDrop, a contact-sharing feature that allows you to share your number with just a tap of your phone. 

The release of iOS 17, and NameDrop, follows the announcement of the iPhone 15 series, the Apple Watch Series 9 and the Apple Watch Ultra 2 at Apple’s Wonderlust event last week. You can now order the iPhone 15 series as well as the new additions to the Apple Watch family.

Fans likely know that NameDrop will be hitting Apple Watches later this year, but right now iPhone users are the only people who can access the feature. 

NameDrop is simple to use. Read on for everything you need to know about this feature. 

ADS

What is NameDrop?

NameDrop is the newest way iPhone users can share contact information with each other. You no longer have to fork over your phone to strangers if you want to swap contact info. All you need to do is simply tap your phones together to swap information. 

When can I use NameDrop? 

If you’re an iPhone user, you’re in luck. NameDrop is available to you right now, or as soon as you update to iOS 17 — that is, as long as you have a supported iPhone

ADS

Go Inside the Apple iPhone 15 and iPhone 15 Pro: See How the New iPhones Look and Work

See all photos

How does NameDrop work? 

In a Newsroom post, Apple called NameDrop a “new AirDrop experience.” People with iPhones can “hold their iPhone near another to share their contact information with only their intended recipients.” 

Apple clarified that you’ll be able to select what information you share with other people, so you won’t have to worry about accidentally sending super personal information to strangers. 

Essentially, all you have to do is place your iPhone close to the intended recipient of your NameDrop, and you’re done. Once you’ve placed the phones together, a Contact Poster will pop up (this is the image that pops up when you call someone). After that, you’ll have the option to just receive the contact or send your own back. 

So… how do I turn NameDrop off? 

Not everyone is going to be a fan of this new feature, and if you fall into that category, Apple’s got you covered. 

All you have to do is open the Settings app, and then tap on General. After that, navigate to the AirDrop tab. Once you open the tab, simply toggle the Bring Devices Together option off. And just like that, no more NameDrop. 

For more iOS 17 details, check out everything you should do before updating to iOS 17 and five hidden iOS 17 features we think you should know about

ADS



[ad_2]

Source link

ADS
ADS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *